Amy Duncan "Cycles of Life" CD

Amy Duncan "Cycles of Life" CD

Regular price $19.99 Sale

Amy Duncan is an Edinburgh-based singer-songwriter whose ambient, folk-inspired music is charming crowds across the country with its emotive, ethereal allure.  With beautiful harmonies and haunting melodies she weaves stories deeply familiar to us all.

'Like other talented female vocalists from Joni Mitchell to Patti Smith, the sheer range and power of Duncan's vocal apparatus are breathtaking.' Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange

'Ms Duncan's voice is used to good effect throughout with a style that varies between an endearing mature warmth to a sort of childlike innocence...' Bluesbunny Review

 Cycles of Life is a deeply personal, honest and ultimately uplifting account of the difficult life experiences Amy has faced and encapsulates the sense of moving from dark to light. Her determination and strength of character is evident throughout as this album doesn't dwell on the darkness but rather the ‘light at the end of the tunnel'. 

Her experience proved a powerfully motivating and creative force in driving her music forward. On 'Crack in the World' Amy shares her insight into the keen sense of disassociation one can experience during darker times. Amy's positivity shines through in 'Navigating' which details the process of emerging from repeated negative cycles into a happier life.

Amy's career hasn't followed a conventional path. After beginning her career playing double bass, the life-changing experience of becoming a mother in 2000 saw Amy channel her new perspective on life into song writing; a fortuitous turn of events that has seen Amy find her niche.  Amy projects her emotionally charged lyrics with fantastic range. With beautiful harmonies and haunting melodies she weaves stories deeply familiar to us all.


  1. Cycles of Life
  2. Song to Myself
  3. When the Dead are Watching
  4. Your Very Soul
  5. Ivory Tower
  6. Crack in the World
  7. Wild Animals
  8. Navigating
  9. Running Boy
  10. This Fleeting Moment
  11. Everything is Going to Be Alright