Artur Pizarro and Vita Panomariovaite "Rimsky-Korsakov: Piano Duo" SACD

Artur Pizarro and Vita Panomariovaite "Rimsky-Korsakov: Piano Duo" SACD

Regular price $19.99 Sale

Celebrated pianist Artur Pizarro combines his extensive experience with that of his pupil and friend Vita Panomariovaite, herself an award-winning pianist, to produce an album of rarely recorded Rimsky Korsakov arrangements for piano duo.

'...the two pianists respond with a unity that shimmers through [Sadko's] opening seascape and dances through its accelerandos...A worthy performance of an accomplished work.' BBC

'A wonderful release...with pianists so entirely at one with each other, the result is a very effective, evocative and exhilarating performance.' International Record Review

'The transcription of the Capriccio Espagnol provides a most brilliant finish to the recital.' Audiophile Audition

These two talented pianists bring their combined skill and virtuosity to bear in three colourful arrangements encompassing Rimsky-Korsakov's most popular music for orchestra. Widely considered one of Rimsky-Korsakov's finest orchestral works, Scheherazade is equally engaging and thrilling arranged for two pianos. The famous Arabian Nights story is clearly brought to life in the composer's own arrangement. Sadko was an instant hit, with Borodin declaring it 'a delight'; this arrangement retains the work's original colours and moods. The Capriccio Espagnol is a Spanish-themed fantasy full of colour and exoticism, thoughtfully arranged by the composer.


  1. Scheherazade Op.35 Largo e maestoso
  2. Scheherazade Op.35 Lento
  3. Scheherazade Op.35 Andantino quasi allegretto
  4. Scheherazade Op.35 Allegro molto
  5. Sadko Op.5
  6. Capriccio Espagnol Op.34 Alborada
  7. Capriccio Espagnol Op.34 Variazioni
  8. Capriccio Espagnol Op.34 Alborada
  9. Capriccio Espagnol Op.34 Scena e canto gitano
  10. Capriccio Espagnol Op.34 Fandango asturiana