Barb Jungr "Chanson:The Space Between" CD

Barb Jungr "Chanson:The Space Between" CD

Regular price $19.99 Sale

Barb Jungr's original take on the songs of Jacques Brel. 'I say, light that Gaullloise, sip a Ricard and go for it!' Hi-Fi+

Originally released in 2000 Chanson: The Space In Between has been re-issued as part of Linn's ECHO series which offers a second chance to enjoy the best of the label's award-winning catalogue.

Barb Jungr's original take on the songs of Jacques Brel marked her Linn debut and the beginning of a decade-long recording partnership. Barb Jungr opted to use specially commissioned translations by Des de Moor and Robb Johnson for her English language renditions; the songs losing nothing in their careful translation whilst allowing Barb to fully explore and explain the emotions within the songs. Chanson: The Space In Between saw Barb turn back to her European roots which had previously been overshadowed in performance by American genres such as blues, gospel and jazz. 

Particularly notable is Barb's delivery of Je Ne Regrette Rien (No Regrets). Barb states:' I wanted to do something very different with it and this version, which is the translation Piaf herself used in English, seemed to me so much more modern than the usual one. A really contemporary "find yourself" song, a ‘Thelma and Louise' chanson.'


  1. Ne Me Quitte Pas
  2. Sunday Morning St Denis
  3. I Love Paris
  4. Les Marquises
  5. Cri du Coeur
  6. Quartier Latin
  7. Marieke
  8. April In Paris
  9. La Chanson Des Vieux Amants
  10. New Amsterdam
  11. Les Poetes
  12. The Space In Between
  13. No Regrets