Barb Jungr "Just Like a Woman" SACD

Barb Jungr "Just Like a Woman" SACD

Regular price $19.99 Sale

Just Like A Woman is Barb Jungr's hymn to the late, great Nina Simone.

‘Barb Jungr is neither jazz diva nor blues belter, but she does have a compelling way of injecting truth into a song.' Evening Standard

‘The most startling pieces here are the medleys.' The Independent

‘A fabulous new album... radical and boldly imaginative reinventions of the Simone favourites.' Record Collector

‘Jungr's phrasing and ability to slide across end rhymes in to the next line are the stuff of revelation.' Jazzwise

This beautiful, haunting album combines Barb's compelling arrangements and resolute delivery to bring a fresh perspective on these songs. Named ‘Jazz Album of the Week' by The Independent, Barb Jungr proves she is a ‘peerless interpreter' as she makes these songs her own, drawing subtle qualities from the lyrics with a moving lightness of touch to make their message utterly contemporary. 

Perhaps most famous for her re-workings of Bob Dylan songs Barb has included Ballad Of Hollis Brown, The Times They Are A Changin' and a soul-meets-reggae influenced Just Like A Woman. Barb has surrounded herself with some of the UK's finest musicians including Danny Thompson on bass and Mark Lockheart on saxophone and clarinets. 


  1. Black Is the Colour / Break Down and Let It All Out
  2. Just Like a Woman
  3. Lilac Wine
  4. The Times They Are a-Changin'
  5. Angel of the Morning
  6. Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood
  7. Keeper of the Flame
  8. To Love Somebody
  9. One Morning in May / The Pusher
  10. Ballad of Hollis Brown
  11. Feeling Good