Cappella Nova "Who Are These Angels?" CD

Cappella Nova "Who Are These Angels?" CD

Regular price $19.99 Sale

Cappella Nova release their second album of premiere recordings of new works by Scottish composer James MacMillan.  A partner to their 2007 album Tenebrae named Gramophone Editor's Choice, this is another wonderful choral performance by the group.

Gramophone Choice - March 2012

'Illuminating performances...[an] essential addition to the rapidly growing discography of one of Britain's most self-assured musical voices.

Cappella Nova follow on from their 'undeniably beautiful' (The Financial Times) Linn debut, MacMillan:Tenebrae, with their second volume of choral works by the leading contemporary composer. The outstanding Scottish group have a unique relationship with James MacMillan, the composer having written several works for them. All of the tracks are premiere recordings, recorded under the supervision of MacMillan, whose fascinating conversation with Rebecca Tavener on his new works are included here.

Who are these Angels? includes the last of the Strathclyde Motets, seven of which were included on Tenebrae. Also included is the mass James MacMillan wrote specifically for Pope Benedict XVI's visit to Scotland in September 2010, sung by over 150,000 people.


  1. And Lo, the Angel of the Lord
  2. Strathclyde Motets, Book 2: Qui meditabitur
  3. Strathclyde Motets, Book 2: O Radiant Dawn
  4. Strathclyde Motets, Book 2: Lux aeterna
  5. Strathclyde Motets, Book 2: Os mutorum
  6. Bring Us, O Lord
  7. Strathclyde Motets, Book 2: Canticle of Zachariah
  8. Benedictus Deus
  9. Advent Antiphon
  10. Strathclyde Motets, Book 2: Pascha nostrum immolatus est
  11. Who Are These Angels?
  12. Think of How God Loves You
  13. Strathclyde Motets, Book 2: Benedicimus Deum caeli
  14. Mass of Blessed John Henry Newman: I. Kyrie
  15. Mass of Blessed John Henry Newman: II. Gloria
  16. Mass of Blessed John Henry Newman: III. Sanctus
  17. Mass of Blessed John Henry Newman: IV. Acclamations
  18. Mass of Blessed John Henry Newman: V. Agnus Dei
  19. Tota pulchra es