Carol Kidd "Dreamsville" SACD

Carol Kidd "Dreamsville" SACD

Regular price $19.99 Sale

Scottish jazz singer Carol Kidd makes a triumphant comeback - after an eight-year absence from the recording scene - with this gorgeous album, which introduces two of her own, original songs. With a band headed by her longtime guitarist (and co-composer) Nigel Clark and pianist Paul Harrison, she is on top form; her sublime voice as beautiful and clear as ever, her balladeering as exquisite. The two new songs fit into the mix perfectly; only an uptempo It's Alright With Me disrupts the dreamy mood. --Scotland on Sunday

It's a brave singer who steps into Ella Fitzgerald's shoes to sing a selection of standards by Rodgers and Hart, Gershwin, Porter, Arlen and Berlin. It's a braver one still who hangs a couple of her own co-written compositions among the Picassos and Leonardos of Broadway. Those songs don't quite match the rest, but comparing Scottish jazz vocalist Carol Kidd to Fitzgerald and Sarah Vaughan is completely valid: her new "Best of the Song Books"-style album is world-class. It's not just a one-woman affair, as Kidd's voice tones in perfectly with Nigel Clark's guitar, drummer Alyn Cosker, bassist Mario Caribe and pianist Paul Harrison. This is not the conservative collection of tunes it might seem on the surface; smooth but never bland, Kidd caresses each ballad and performs every lively number like the life and soul of the party. --Sunday Herald


  1. It Never Entered My Mind
  2. A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square
  3. How Deep is the Ocean
  4. How Long Has This Been Going On
  5. Can't We Be Friends?
  6. Dreamsville
  7. There Goes My Heart
  8. Happiness is Just a Thing Called Joe
  9. It's Alright With Me
  10. Stars Fell on Alabama
  11. Do You Believe?
  12. When I Dream