Claire Martin "A Modern Art" SACD

Claire Martin "A Modern Art" SACD

Regular price $19.99 Sale

Britain's leading female jazz singer Claire Martin returns with her new album A Modern Art. The album is a personal reflection of what it takes to be a musician in the 21st century and features two brand new self-penned tracks.

4 stars 'The most gifted jazz singer this country has produced in 20 years...' Sunday Times

4 stars '…beautifully delivered with trademark cool-school virtuosity by Martin.' Metro

'Claire Martin has always been a talented and exciting singer, but with this album, she gives evidence of both maturity and being at one with her art.' Jazzwise

'…a consummate jazz singer with old-school virtues.' The Guardian

4 stars 'Martin's dark, velvety voice navigates each harmonic twist, with acerbic words to the wise and poignantly personal tales.' Time Out

 The original and contemporary songs on A Modern Art are presented with a cool-edge, tinged with a touch of irony and razor-sharp wit. A Modern Art is inspired by the tragic death of pioneering jazz musician Esbjörn Svensson, who Claire pays tribute to with a heartfelt rendition of 'Love Is Real'

A Modern Art features songs by the 21st century's finest writers; Michael Franks, Donald Fagen, Cy Coleman, Rogers & Hart and Rebekka Bakken. Mark Winkler has contributed lyrics to a great Joshua Redman melody on the track 'lowercase' and 'As We Live and Breathe' is by the New York Voices' vocalist Lauren Kinhan.

Claire Martin successfully creates 'new' jazz classics as she tackles the thorny subject of jazz as a contemporary art form – one routed in tradition but as relevant and vibrant as ever.


  1. Everything I've Got Belongs to You
  2. So Twentieth Century
  3. Love Is Real
  4. Lowercase
  5. A Modern Art
  6. Edge Ways
  7. Love of Another
  8. Totally
  9. Everybody Today Is Turning On
  10. Sunday Morning Here with You
  11. Promises
  12. Things I Miss the Most
  13. As We Live and Breathe
  14. Nirvana