Claire Martin "Perfect Alibi" SACD

Claire Martin "Perfect Alibi" SACD

Regular price $19.99 Sale

Perfect Alibi is a diverse mix of modern classics.

‘Just as she has always had an eye for the rarer jazz standard, Martin - like Quincy Jones - has always enjoyed crossing the tracks into the mainstream.' The Sunday Times 

‘That rarest of things: a singer who actually lives up to the extravagant claims made on their behalf.' Jazzwise 

Presenting an extensive variety of songs that demonstrate Claire's stunning vocal talents, Perfect Alibi includes tracks written by Phoebe Snow, Todd Rundgren, Jimi Hendrix, Laura Nyro, Julia Fordham and John Martyn. This album saw Claire Martin lead the jazz world into pop-crossover territory before Norah Jones and Madeleine Peyroux made this style an accepted genre. 

Claire Martin vocals
Paul Stacey guitar & keyboards
Jeremey Stacey drums
Anthony Kerr vibes
Mornington Lockett clarinet & saxophone
Luis Jardim percussion
Arnie Somogyi double bass

Special guest John Martyn vocals


  1. How Can I Be Sure
  2. Man In the Station
  3. Up from the Skies
  4. Inspired Insanity
  5. People Make the World Go Round
  6. Shadowville
  7. Strangers Now
  8. More Than You'll Ever Know
  9. Over by Allenby
  10. More Than I Can Bear
  11. He's a Runner
  12. Wailing Wall