Claire Martin "Say it Isn't So" CD

Claire Martin "Say it Isn't So" CD

Regular price $19.99 Sale

Say It Isn't So is a joyful celebration; both of the impeccably crafted songs of Irving Berlin and of the unique partnership between two seasoned performers at the top of their game: Claire Martin and the late Richard Rodney Bennett. 

One of The 10 Best Albums of 2013: ‘This collection of Irving Berlin songs has deliciously deft numbers like Shakin' the Blues Away, and witty ones like He Ain't got Rhythm (where Rodney Bennett's quavering tenor is just as satisfying in its way as Martin's rich, lingering contralto).' The Telegraph

 Lifelong friends on and off stage, Martin and Bennett recorded three studio albums and enjoyed acclaimed concert performances in a collaboration that flourished over two decades. Recorded in New York, Say It Isn't So is their last recording together and one of which Claire is immensely proud.  Bennett's skilful arrangements highlight why Berlin was widely considered one of the greatest songwriters of all time and brilliantly showcase Claire's assured and expressive voice.

Claire and Richard's previous duo albums, 'When Lights are Low' and 'Witchcraft', received wide critical acclaim: 'their albums set the standard for classic interpretations of popular songs' (The Observer).


  1. Steppin’ Out
  2. Change Partners
  3. Get Thee Behind Me Satan/I Got Lost in His Arms
  4. He Ain’t Got Rhythm
  5. Love You Didn’t Do Right By Me
  6. How Deep is the Ocean
  7. Lonely Heart
  8. Shakin’ the Blues Away/Blue Skies
  9. Better Luck Next Time
  10. Say It Isn’t So
  11. What’ll I Do?
  12. Waiting at the End of the Road