Claire Martin "Take My Heart" CD

Claire Martin "Take My Heart" CD

Regular price $19.99 Sale

Claire Martin takes a rare, and brilliant, side-step from her traditional jazz roots.

Originally released in 1999, Take My Heart has been re-issued as part of Linn's ECHO series which offers a second chance to enjoy the best of the label's award-winning catalogue.  

Claire Martin's eclectic taste, originality and flair ensures this foray into pop-crossover territory, a trend she championed long before Norah Jones and Madeleine Peyroux made this style an accepted genre, was highly successful.

Claire invited Noel Gallagher to play acoustic guitar on 'Help!' whilst other notable contributors include Paul Stacey, Gareth Williams, Arnie Somogyi. Jeremy Stacey, Jason Rebello and Mornington Lockett.

Claire Martin co-wrote a few of the songs on ‘Take My Heart', including 'Pleading Guilty' which is Joni Mitchell-esque in style and Inner City Girl.

‘...the most classy interpreter of tasteful contemporary pop material...' Jazz Times

‘Martin the pop singer proved to be every bit as compelling as Martin the jazz singer.'

‘...her seductively honeyed treatments underline her ability to combine genres in satisfying fashion.' Jazzwise

‘, jazzy vocals.' Hi-Fi News & Record Review

‘Martin's leisurely, smoky voice never dodges a syllable or blurs a meaning as it sends slow, lingering chills up the back of the neck.' All About Jazz


  1. Riverman
  2. Take My Heart
  3. Only The Lonely
  4. Queen Bee
  5. Brilliant Trees
  6. Jonah
  7. Help!
  8. Inner City Girl
  9. Pleading Guilty
  10. I Scare Myself
  11. Baby Plays Around