Dire Straits "On Every Street" 180gm 2LP

Dire Straits "On Every Street" 180gm 2LP

Regular price $54.99 Sale

Format: 180gm 2LP reissue, remastered, includes download code

Label: Mercury

Released: 2014

Country: Holland

Remastered from the original analogue and digital masters by Bernie Grundman and Bob Ludwig, lacquers cut by Chris Bellman and Bernie Grundman.

A strain of deep ennui pervades this, the sixth (and, to date, final) studio album from one of the most wildly successful bands of the 1980s. This time, though, it's the sound of an older songwriter: from the R&B of "Calling Elvis", to the modest countrified picking of "How Long", Mark Knopfler seems to have left his rock inclinations far behind--allowing himself only a token indulgence on tracks such as "Heavy Fuel". Yet his guitar work remains evocative; and the best track here--the sexually-belligerent, richly atmospheric "You And Your Friend"--recalls the dark view of human relations (and the splendid dobro lead work) he featured on "Private Investigations".


  1. Calling Elvis
  2. On Every Street
  3. When It Comes To You
  4. Fade To Black
  5. The Bug
  6. You And Your Friend
  7. Heavy Fuel
  8. Iron Hand
  9. Ticket To Heaven
  10. My Parties
  11. Planet Of New Orleans
  12. How Long