James Gilchrist "Vaughan Williams: On Wenlock Edge" SACD

James Gilchrist "Vaughan Williams: On Wenlock Edge" SACD

Regular price $19.99 Sale

James Gilchrist's second solo album with Linn Records, On Wenlock Edge, explores the works of the great English composers Vaughan Williams, Gurney, Bliss and Warlock.

Vaughan Williams, a tour de force of English song, set A.E. Housman's On Wenlock Edge following a visit with Ravel in Paris. The French influence can be clearly heard in the distinctive piano quintet accompaniment - an innovation in English song. This is a premiere recording of Gurney's masterpiece Ludlow & Teme using the composer's revised and corrected version which, after studying with Vaughan Williams, he declared to be his favourite, stating: 'the alterations are simple (and striking).'

James Gilchrist has established a reputation as the leading figure in English song interpretation following his acclaimed debut recital album of Finzi songs and countless concert performances of works by Vaughan Williams, Britten and Purcell.


  1. On Wenlock Edge
  2. From far, from eve and morning
  3. Is my team ploughing
  4. Oh, when I was in love with you
  5. Bredon Hill
  6. Clun
  7. The Curlew
  8. Elegiac Sonnet
  9. When smoke stood up from Ludlow
  10. Far in a western brookland
  11. 'Tis time I think
  12. Ludlow Fair
  13. On the idle hill of summer
  14. When I was one and twenty
  15. The Lent Lily