Judith Owen "Happy This Way" SACD

Judith Owen "Happy This Way" SACD

Regular price $19.99 Sale

Happy This Way explores Owen's extraordinary talent for mixing Celtic, jazz and contemporary influences, resulting in a memorable and emotional view of her homeland.

Welsh-born Judith Owen’s debut album for Linn marks her return home from life in the United States where she has established herself as a heartfelt singer / songwriter. On Happy This Way Owen brings to bear her singular sense of humour and raw emotionalism to create a homage to her native Britain that is at once poignant and funny.

Co-produced by Owen and John Fischbach - engineer of Stevie Wonder’s classic 1970s album Songs In The Key OF Life - songs range from the upbeat 'Painting by Numbers' to the melodic epic scope of 'Conway Bay'. Highlights include performances by Julia Fordham, Ian Shaw, Richard Thompson, Cassandra Wilson, a remix by Quantic and others.

'I do love the human condition and I can’t write about anything else', says Owen. 'I’m fascinated by what I know and see in myself, and in other people. I think this album embraces that thoroughly - how you just have to enjoy the ride, every second of it.'

'Owen's alluring vocals are a constant, the gift that keeps on giving.' Washington Post

'...a drier, hipper Norah Jones.' LA Times 

'...the kind of wailing folk-jazz voice that slices away surfaces to touch vulnerable emotional nerve endings and leave you quivering.' New York Times


  1. Conway Bay
  2. Painting by Numbers
  3. Nicholas Drake
  4. Sympathy
  5. Cool Life
  6. Carry
  7. Happy This Way
  8. We're Only Human
  9. Love Has 2 Faces
  10. Dark Clouds
  11. My Father's Voice
  12. Enough (bonus track)