Liane Carroll "Seaside" CD

Liane Carroll "Seaside" CD

Regular price $19.99 Sale

Liane Carroll's Seaside is a mix of original songs and covers broadly following a seashore theme, with sterling accompaniment comprising piano trio, guitar and brass. It was named 'Best New CD' at the 2015 British Jazz Awards.

'...this is not only Carroll's best disc, but one of the finest non-classical releases in the Linn catalogue.' The Herald

'The title number, written by the irrepressible Joe Stilgoe, has to be one of the finest new songs of the year, the bittersweet lyrics burnished by Evan Jolly's brass-band arrangement.' The Sunday Times

'Seaside consolidates Carroll's position as one of the UK's most expressive jazz/soul vocalists and pianists in an accessible recording which combines unalloyed high spirits with beauteous, heart aching emotion.' AP Reviews

'She has the remarkable ability to sing every song totally from the heart as if she has just written it herself.' BBC Radio 3 'Jazz Line-Up'

Winner: 'Best New CD' British Jazz Awards 2015

Awarded 'Best British Vocalist' on more than one occasion, singer Liane Carroll has a 'deeply soulful' voice and a fearless approach to singing.

Liane brings a refreshing approach to Billie Halliday's 'I Cover The Waterfront', Kurt Weill's 'My Ship' and Nina Simone's 'Wild is the Wind', plus 'Almost Like Being In Love' – famous as the closing track to the blockbuster hit Groundhog Day. The title song, 'Seaside', was specially written for Liane by Joe Stilgoe which sees the singer return Liane's favour of guesting on his cover of Brian Wilson's 'I Just Wasn't Made For These Times' from his latest album New Songs For Old Souls.

The album reunites Liane with multi-GRAMMY nominated producer and trumpeter James McMillan who worked on her previous two albums. Liane's rhythm section comprises Malcolm Edmonstone (piano), Mark Edwards (piano), Ian Thomas (drums) and Steve Pearce (bass) with guest musicians Rob Luft (guitar) and Andy Wood (brass).


  1. Seaside
  2. Almost Like Being In Love
  3. Bring Me Sunshine
  4. Nobody’s Fault But Mine
  5. Get Me Through December
  6. Mercy Now
  7. Wild Is The Wind
  8. I Cover The Waterfront
  9. My Ship
  10. For Those In Peril On The Sea