Mackenzie "Notes From Hebridean Isle" CD

Mackenzie "Notes From Hebridean Isle" CD

Regular price $19.99 Sale

Notes From A Hebridean Island features the very best Scottish and Gaelic singing and instrumental music played by some of the best exponents of the art.

‘A near perfect example of all that's attractive about traditional - and traditional sounding - Scottish music.' The Living Tradition

‘... the great thing about Jackson - the skill and artistry of the man - lies in his lightness of touch.' The Scotsman

‘Fiona Mackenzie's magnificent and often hauntingly evocative voice [is] highly recommended!' Audiophile Audition

Produced by Calum Malcolm (The Blue Nile), Notes From A Hebridean Island features the vocal and instrumental talents of William Jackson and the Mackenzie sisters accompanied by Scotland's finest traditional musicians: James McIntosh (pipes), Tony McManus (guitars), Aidan O'Rourke (fiddle) and Ian Lowthian (accordion).

Compositions are taken from all over Scotland - from the remote Atlantic archipelago of St. Kilda to the Isle of Skye and the Highlands. Closing the album is Looking South Over The Border, an original composition by Ian Lowthian.

The performers' affinity with the music is evident as they breathe fresh life into these traditional compositions.


  1. St. Kilda's Wedding/St. Kilda's Dance
  2. Anna Bheag (Wee Anna)
  3. MacPhee's Reel/Marion and Donald/Tail Toddle
  4. Ba Mo Leanabh (O My Baby)
  5. Barbara's Jig/Kenny MacDonald's Jig/Joseph MacDonald's Jig
  6. A Fisherman's Song for Attracting Seals
  7. Blue Ribbon, Scottish Measure
  8. The Battle of Waterloo/The Wee Highland Laddie
  9. Skye Dance/Harris Dance
  10. The Mermaid's Song
  11. Chaidh Mi'n Traigh a Déanamh Maoraich (I Went to the Beach to ...)
  12. Rory Dall's Sister's Lament
  13. Iain Ruaidh's Lament (Tuireadh Iain Ruiadh)
  14. Looking South Over the Border