Mary Black "The Holy Ground" 180gm LP

Mary Black "The Holy Ground" 180gm LP

Regular price $54.99 Sale

Format: LP reissue, remastered

Label: Pure Pleasure Analogue

Released: 2014

Country: UK

After initial albums showcasing her eclectic Celtic sensibilities, followed by attempts to move into a more mainstream arena, Mary Black combines the best of all her musical powers on THE HOLY GROUND, creating distinct, rich characters on each of the songs. The theme.

In a traditional Irish song, Black sings about a woman who waits patiently for her man to come home from the sea to spend time with her, only to watch him leave again. And in a pop song, she sings about a girl who seems to have everything at home but eventually knows she must grow up and leave to find her own personal higher ground. Black's interpretation of both these songs provides such a complete narrative thread that the two women seem interchangeable. On the Sandy Denny-penned "One Way Donkey Ride," the folk-rock sound fits Black's voice perfectly. The album ends with "Poison Words," a bitter retelling of a marriage gone sour, leaving Black, as well as her audience, wondering about the nature of love. Almost a song cycle, THE HOLY GROUND is a satisfying musical journey.


  1. Summer Sent You
  2. Flesh And Blood
  3. The Loving Time
  4. Golden Thread
  5. The Holy Ground (Trad.)
  6. Treasure Island
  7. The Holy Ground
  8. One Way Donkey Ride
  9. Dockland
  10. Lay Down Your Burden
  11. Paper Friends
  12. Poison Words