Ray Gelato "The Full Flavour" CD

Ray Gelato "The Full Flavour" CD

Regular price $19.99 Sale

Enjoy the popular jump ‘n' jive and swinging sound of popular UK group Ray Gelato Giants, with Louis Prima influences and the spirit of Harlem.  Features Claire Martin as a guest vocalist.

Originally released in 1995, The Full Flavour has been re-issued as part of Linn's ECHO series which offers a second chance to enjoy the best of the label's award-winning catalogue.  

‘...infectious, personality-driven hot jazz swing...' Record Collector

‘Ray and the Giants' music is a joyous celebration of the bygone days of jump, jive and swing ... seek, find and enjoy.' Rhythm Magazine

‘...with touches of Frank Sinatra, heated swing, and bits of bebop [this is] one of the best retro-swing releases of the mid-'90s.' AllMusic.com

 The Full Flavour, the debut album of Ray Gelato Giants, is Vegas-style Rat Pack Swing at its very best. Mixing the popular jump 'n' jive sound of the golden era of swing with Louis Prima influences and the spirit of Harlem, Ray Gelato is a dynamic and charismatic band leader.

The set list includes tracks made famous by Louis Prima ('That Old Black Magic' and a medley of 'Basin Street Blues' and 'Sleepy Time Down South'), Charlie Ventura ('Dark Eyes'), Dean Martin, Nat ‘King' Cole, and a rare up-tempo version of 'As Time Goes By'.

Claire Martin, fresh from being named ‘Best Jazz Singer' at the 1995 British Jazz Awards is a guest vocalist, whilst band legend Benny Green contributes the booklet note.


  1. Basin Street Blues / Sleepy Time Down South
  2. Undecided
  3. Dark Eyes
  4. Don't Let It Go To Your Head
  5. Forget About Livin'
  6. That's Amore
  7. That's Life
  8. Exactly Like You
  9. Lazy River
  10. Orange Coloured Sky
  11. Apple Honey
  12. Under a Blanket of Blue
  13. As Time Goes By
  14. Since You Moved In With Me
  15. Caterina
  16. That Old Black Magic