Scottish Chamber Orchestra "Mozart: Serenades" SACD

Scottish Chamber Orchestra "Mozart: Serenades" SACD

Regular price $19.99 Sale

The Scottish Chamber Orchestra and Alexander Janiczek attentively re-discover the music produced during Mozart's years in Salzburg.

‘...a sleek, radiant account of Mozart's Salzburg years.' Classic FM

‘...refined and gracefully expressive...' The Strad  

‘The SCO's playing is as refined and elegant as these wonderful works themselves.' The Observer 

‘The Scottish Chamber with precision, accuracy and wit, and the Linn engineers catch the many sparkling facets of their sound brilliantly.' Metro  

Director Alexander Janiczek proves the perfect choice to direct the music of his fellow Austrian as he delivers a superb performance in this, his second, recording with the Scottish Chamber Orchestra. A disc of wonderfully atmospheric music impressively and thoughtfully interpreted by the Scottish Chamber Orchestra with original cadenzas by Alexander Janiczek. 

K. 185, also known as the 'Andretter' Serenade, is notable for being the first Serenade to include a solo violin, played here by director Alexander Janiczek. The Divertimento, or Concerto, K. 113 is significant as the first time Mozart had written for the clarinet, an instrument that was to become highly significant in future compositions. The SCO's previous Mozart recordings have been critically acclaimed; Mozart: Wind Concertos consistently received four and five-star reviews and BBC Music Magazine named Mozart: Requiem a 'Benchmark Recording' in January 2007 whilst Mozart: Symphonies 38–41 won BBC Music Magazine 'Disc of the Year' in 2010.


  1. March, (K.189)
  2. Allegro assai
  3. Andante
  4. Allego
  5. Menuetto & Trio
  6. Andante grazioso
  7. Menuetto & Trio
  8. Adagio, Allegro assai
  9. Rondo in C, (K.373)
  10. Adagio in E, (K.261)
  11. Rondo Concertante in Bb, (K.269)
  12. Allegro
  13. Andante
  14. Menuetto & Trio
  15. Allegro